Spring skiing in Queenstown: is a late-season pass worth it, or is the season done
What one more ski day costs at each of the four fields this spring, when each one closes, what the operators' own snow reports said, and the free walk if the answer is no. Every price from the operator's page, with the date we read it.
Published 18 September 2026 · Last checked 22 September 2026 · Corrected 22 September 2026 · By Queenstown Pocket
In short: The decision is whether one more ski day this spring is worth a lift pass, $180 for a day at Coronet Peak or The Remarkables ($135 for an afternoon) or $184 at Cardrona or Treble Cone on the Saturdays we checked, plus a $20 to $36 bus, or whether the season is done for you. It turns on four things: which field, because the last days run from 27 September at Treble Cone to 18 October at Cardrona; how many days you will ski, because spring multi-day passes bring a day down to $100 to $120; the snow and wind on the morning, which each field’s own report gives; and ages, because under-5s and those 75 and over ski free at the NZSki fields. The free alternative is Queenstown Hill, 5.4 km return and 2 to 3 hours. Prices as the operators publish them, read 18 September 2026.
The Thursday email settles this for a given week. This page keeps the numbers behind it, with the source and the date on each one. For each field’s distance from town, road and terrain, see Coronet Peak, The Remarkables, Cardrona and Treble Cone, or all four side by side in the ski fields compared.
What a spring ski day costs
| Option | Adult price | Child price | What you get | Time | Getting there | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coronet Peak, NZSki Superpass, 1 day | $180 | $115 (the page does not say which ages); under 5 and 75 and over ski free with a MyPass card | A lift day; NZSki says the Superpass can be used any day, with no booking and no holiday blackouts | 9am to 4pm; last day 4 October | NZSki Ski Bus, return: $36 for 6 and over, $15 for 3 to 5, under 2 free; bookings essential. From 9 Duke St, 7:30am to 11am; returns from 1pm | Superpass (opens in a new tab), mountain info (opens in a new tab) and Ski Bus (opens in a new tab), read 18 Sep 2026 |
| Coronet Peak, Afternoon Pass | $135 | Not on the page | Afternoon lifts only | 12:30pm to 4pm | The same Ski Bus; the last pickup from 9 Duke St is 11am | Afternoon Pass (opens in a new tab), read 18 Sep 2026 |
| The Remarkables, NZSki Superpass, 1 day | $180 | $115; under 5 and 75 and over ski free with a MyPass card | A lift day; the same Superpass prices as Coronet Peak | 9am to 4pm; last day 11 October | NZSki Ski Bus, return: $36 for 6 and over, $15 for 3 to 5, under 2 free; bookings essential. From 9 Duke St half-hourly 7:30am to 9am, then 11am; from Frankton 7:45am to 11:15am; returns from 1:30pm | Superpass (opens in a new tab), mountain info (opens in a new tab) and Ski Bus (opens in a new tab), read 18 Sep 2026 |
| The Remarkables, Afternoon Pass | $135 | Not on the page | Afternoon lifts only | 12:30pm to 4pm | The same Ski Bus; the last Duke St departure is 11am, the last Frankton pickup 11:15am | Afternoon Pass (opens in a new tab), read 18 Sep 2026 |
| NZSki Spring Pass | 5 days $525 ($105 a day), 6 days $600 ($100 a day), unlimited $675 | Not confirmed on the page | Days at Coronet Peak, The Remarkables and Mt Hutt, usable from 1 September | 9am to 4pm | The NZSki Ski Bus, as above | Spring Passes (opens in a new tab), read 18 Sep 2026 |
| Cardrona, 1-day lift pass | $184 (18 to 64) on Sat 26 Sep and Sat 3 Oct, shown against $209; the price is set by date | $109 (6 to 17) on the same two dates | A lift day at Cardrona | Lifts 8:30am to 4:00pm, weather permitting; last day 18 October | Queenstown Ski Bus, $20 adult return in spring (was $45): Cameron Place 7:30am, back from Cardrona 4:15pm; child fare not published. Driving: free road shuttle from The Pines car park, no booking | booking engine (opens in a new tab), hours (opens in a new tab) and transport (opens in a new tab), read 18 Sep 2026 |
| Treble Cone, 1-day lift pass | $184 (18 to 64) on Sat 26 Sep, shown against $209 | $109 (6 to 17) on Sat 26 Sep | A lift day at Treble Cone | 8:30am to 4:00pm; last day 27 September (tentative) | Queenstown Ski Bus, $20 adult return in spring: Cameron Place 7:00am, back from Treble Cone 4:00pm. Driving: free shuttle from the car park at the bottom of the access road, no booking | booking engine (opens in a new tab), hours (opens in a new tab) and transport (opens in a new tab), read 18 Sep 2026 |
| Cardrona or Treble Cone, Half Day Pass | From $145 | Not published | Afternoon lifts; sold on the day only, at the ticket office or call centre, subject to capacity | 12:30pm to 4pm | The same Queenstown Ski Bus, which leaves in the morning | lift passes (opens in a new tab) and passes (opens in a new tab), read 18 Sep 2026 |
| Cardrona and Treble Cone spring multi-day pass | 4 days $480 ($120 a day), 5 days $560 ($112), 6 days $630 ($105), 7 days $735 ($105) | Not in the figures we checked | Days at both mountains, valid 1 September to the end of the season | Each mountain's lift hours | The Queenstown Ski Bus, as above | Spring deals (opens in a new tab), read 18 Sep 2026 |
| Queenstown Hill Time Walk (the free option) | Free | Free | A walk to Queenstown Hill's 907 m summit, on a council-managed track through private land | 2 to 3 hours, 5.4 km return, about 500 m of climbing | Starts at Belfast Terrace; Orbus fares are $2.50 with a Bee Card | DOC Queenstown day walks brochure (opens in a new tab) and ORC fares (opens in a new tab), read 18 Sep 2026 |
The NZSki Superpass page shows one price per number of days, with no date picker, and NZSki says the pass can be used any day with no booking. It works only on days a mountain is open. Cardrona and Treble Cone price each single day by date: Cardrona says a rescheduled day can cost the difference if the new day is dearer, its listing reads “Adult price starting from” $184, and it says buying online saves up to $15. We checked two Saturdays; every other date needs its own check. Where a page does not state a price, the table says so rather than guessing.
When each field closes
| Field | Last day in 2026 | Calendar days left from Tue 22 Sep | Hours, and what ends sooner | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Treble Cone | 27 September (tentative); the booking calendar sells no day after it | 6 | 8:30am to 4:00pm; on 18 September the report gave Saddle Basin 9am to 3:30pm | hours (opens in a new tab) and snow report (opens in a new tab), read 18 Sep 2026 |
| Coronet Peak | 4 October, listed as Closing Day in the field's events | 13 | 9am to 4pm; First Tracks (8am to 9am) ran daily only until 20 September | mountain info (opens in a new tab) and events (opens in a new tab), read 18 Sep 2026 |
| The Remarkables | 11 October | 20 | 9am to 4pm; Afternoon Pass from 12:30pm | mountain info (opens in a new tab), read 18 Sep 2026 |
| Cardrona | 18 October, which Cardrona calls the new closing date after staying open longer | 27 | 8:30am to 4:00pm; the later Après Ski Bus from Queenstown ran only until 20 September | hours (opens in a new tab) and transport (opens in a new tab), read 18 Sep 2026 |
The days-left column is our arithmetic: calendar days from Tuesday 22 September to the last day, both included. They are not promised operating days; a field can close for wind or weather on any of them. Cardrona’s own mountains page (opens in a new tab) gave two other sets of Cardrona dates when we read it, so we use its hours page and its booking calendar, which agree on 18 October. We found no extension for Treble Cone past 27 September; its calendar shows 28 to 30 September unavailable.
Day, afternoon or spring pass
Our arithmetic, adult prices only: the pass plus the return bus, and the pass divided by the lift hours each field publishes. The inputs are all in the tables above.
| Plan | Pass | Bus return | Pass and bus | Lift hours | Pass per lift hour |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coronet Peak or The Remarkables, full day | $180 | $36 | $216 | 7 (9am to 4pm) | $25.71 |
| Coronet Peak or The Remarkables, afternoon | $135 | $36 | $171 | 3.5 (12:30pm to 4pm) | $38.57 |
| Cardrona, Sat 26 Sep or Sat 3 Oct | $184 | $20 | $204 | 7.5 (8:30am to 4:00pm) | $24.53 |
| Treble Cone, Sat 26 Sep | $184 | $20 | $204 | 7.5 (8:30am to 4:00pm) | $24.53 |
| Cardrona or Treble Cone, half day | From $145 | $20 | From $165 | 3.5 (12:30pm to 4pm) | $41.43 |
| NZSki 6-day Spring Pass, per day | $100 | $36 a trip | $136 a day | 7 (9am to 4pm) | $14.29 |
| Cardrona and Treble Cone 7-day spring pass, per day | $105 | $20 a trip | $125 a day | 7.5 (8:30am to 4:00pm) | $14.00 |
- The afternoon saves $45 and costs 3.5 hours. At Coronet Peak or The Remarkables, $180 less $135. By the hour the afternoon is the dearer way to ski ($38.57 against $25.71), and the last morning Ski Bus from Duke St leaves at 11am, 90 minutes before the Afternoon Pass starts.
- A half day at Cardrona or Treble Cone needs a car or an early bus. After 20 September the later Après Ski Bus stops, and the Queenstown bus we list for Cardrona leaves Cameron Place at 7:30am, five hours before a half-day pass starts at 12:30pm.
- NZSki Spring Pass against day passes. The Superpass is $180 for 1 day and $170 a day for 2 ($340). Three days as a 2-day and a 1-day pass cost $520, $5 under the 5-day Spring Pass at $525; four days as two 2-day passes cost $680, $155 more than the Spring Pass. The unlimited pass ($675) costs $75 more than the 6-day ($600), so it pays only from a seventh day. We recorded only the Superpass 1 and 2-day prices, so check its longer passes before choosing.
- Cardrona and Treble Cone spring pass against day passes. The 4-day pass ($480) costs less than three single days at the $184 shown for 26 September and 3 October ($552); two single days ($368) cost less than the pass. Single-day prices move by date, so check yours.
The snow on 18 September, unofficial
Operator figures, unofficial: copied from each field’s own snow report on 18 September 2026, not measured by us and not a forecast. The fields measure in different places and in different ways, so the numbers do not compare like for like.
| Field | Depth | Recent snow | Season snowfall | Report updated | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coronet Peak | Upper 90 cm, lower 55 cm, measured on the main groomed trails with SnowSAT | 18 cm in the last 48 hours | 118 cm | 4:03pm | Coronet Peak report, read 18 Sep 2026 (opens in a new tab) |
| The Remarkables | Upper 180 cm, lower 70 cm | 15 cm in the last 48 hours | 300 cm | 4:21pm | The Remarkables report, read 18 Sep 2026 (opens in a new tab) |
| Cardrona | 112 cm natural snow base at the 1800 m weather station | 0 overnight, 0 in the last 24 hours, 15 over 7 days (the page gives no unit) | Not recorded here | 4:01pm | Cardrona report, read 18 Sep 2026 (opens in a new tab) |
| Treble Cone | 150 cm snow base, measured at the top of the Home Basin | 0 overnight, 0 in the last 24 hours, 17 cm over 7 days | Not recorded here | 1:12pm | Treble Cone report, read 18 Sep 2026 (opens in a new tab) |
We read Coronet Peak, The Remarkables and Cardrona after the 4pm close, when each showed no lifts open, and Treble Cone’s lift count came from a summary last updated at 1:12pm, so this page gives no lift count for the day. None of the reports gives the date of the last snowfall, only rolling totals. Each field’s report is linked in the table; read it on the morning you go.
The free alternative
Queenstown Hill. DOC’s Queenstown day walks brochure lists the Queenstown Hill Time Walk at 2 to 3 hours and 5.4 km return from Belfast Terrace, climbing some 500 m to the summit; its map marks Queenstown Hill at 907 m. It costs nothing, and it is a council-managed track through private land. DOC warns that the higher tracks can have snow and ice from autumn through winter and often into spring, which is now. Orbus fares are $2.50 with a Bee Card if you ride part of the way; the Queenstown Hill walk page has how to reach the start and the track notes.
It is not a ski day; it is a summit walk with no pass to buy. For more that costs nothing, see the free things to do in Queenstown; for the Bee Card itself, the Bee Card guide.
What changes the answer
Wind and weather on the day. On Friday 18 September The Remarkables said that, because of forecast wind, it would sell day lift passes and rentals at Afternoon rates on Saturday 19 September, with no refunds if it had to close early, and that Superpass holders could use their pass or buy the Afternoon Pass instead. It said the report would be updated at 6:30am. That was one day’s call, not a standing offer, and the report is where such calls appear. The same day Treble Cone’s report gave its Saddle Basin shorter hours (9am to 3:30pm) than the Home Basin (8:30am to 4pm).
Snow. On 18 September the operators reported between 55 cm (Coronet Peak, lower) and 180 cm (The Remarkables, upper), with 15 to 18 cm in the last 48 hours at the NZSki fields and none in the last 24 hours at Cardrona and Treble Cone. These are the operators’ own figures, unofficial, and they change daily.
Booking and queues. The Superpass needs no booking; the NZSki Ski Bus does (“Bookings are essential”). Cardrona and Treble Cone’s Half Day Pass is sold on the day only, at the ticket office or call centre, subject to capacity, so it is not guaranteed. Their single-day price is set by date, and on 18 September Treble Cone’s engine showed “100 left at this price” for 26 September. We have no lift-queue figures for any field, so this page gives none.
Ages. At the NZSki fields, children under 5 and seniors 75 and over ski free but still need a MyPass card; the child day is $115, and the Superpass page does not say which ages that covers. At Cardrona and Treble Cone, adult means 18 to 64 and child 6 to 17 ($109 on the dates we checked). The NZSki Ski Bus charges the $36 fare from age 6, $15 for 3 to 5, and nothing under 2; its page does not state a fare for a 2-year-old. The Cardrona and Treble Cone pages we read show only the adult bus fare. With children, see also Queenstown with kids.
Season. Two things ended on Sunday 20 September: First Tracks at Coronet Peak and the later Après Ski Bus from Queenstown to Cardrona. Spring Passes at both operators, and the $20 spring bus fare to Cardrona and Treble Cone, have applied since 1 September. After Treble Cone closes (27 September, tentative), three fields are left; after 11 October, only Cardrona. The October guide covers the rest of the month.
How to book
NZSki Superpass, Coronet Peak
$180 adult, $115 child, 1 day; any day, no booking; under 5 and 75 and over free with a MyPass card. Last day 4 October. Read 18 Sep 2026.
Book direct (no commission). We earn nothing on this one.
NZSki Superpass, The Remarkables
$180 adult, $115 child, 1 day; Afternoon Pass $135 adult, 12:30pm to 4pm. Last day 11 October. Read 18 Sep 2026.
Book direct (no commission). We earn nothing on this one.
NZSki Spring Pass
5 days $525, 6 days $600, unlimited $675, adult; Coronet Peak, The Remarkables and Mt Hutt, from 1 September. Read 18 Sep 2026.
Book direct (no commission). We earn nothing on this one.
NZSki Ski Bus
$36 return for 6 and over, $15 for 3 to 5, under 2 free; from 9 Duke St from 7:30am; bookings essential. Read 18 Sep 2026.
Book direct (no commission). We earn nothing on this one.
Cardrona and Treble Cone, 1-day lift pass
Priced by date: $184 adult and $109 child on Sat 26 Sep (both fields) and Sat 3 Oct (Cardrona). Read 18 Sep 2026.
Book direct (no commission). We earn nothing on this one.
Cardrona and Treble Cone spring multi-day pass
4 days $480, 5 days $560, 6 days $630, 7 days $735, adult, both mountains, to the end of the season. Read 18 Sep 2026.
Book direct (no commission). We earn nothing on this one.
Queenstown Ski Bus to Cardrona or Treble Cone
$20 adult return in spring; Cameron Place 7:30am to Cardrona, 7:00am to Treble Cone. Read 18 Sep 2026.
Book direct (no commission). We earn nothing on this one.
None of these earns us anything. The Queenstown Hill walk needs no booking. Other big-ticket prices are in what Queenstown activities cost, and town buses are on the bus pages.
Questions people ask
When does the ski season end in Queenstown in 2026?
On the operators' own pages, read 22 September 2026: Treble Cone on 27 September (tentative), Coronet Peak on 4 October, The Remarkables on 11 October and Cardrona on 18 October. Coronet Peak lists a Closing Day event on Sunday 4 October and The Remarkables one on 11 October; Cardrona's spring page calls 18 October the new closing date; the Treble Cone booking calendar sells days up to its date and none after.
How much is a lift pass at Coronet Peak or The Remarkables in spring?
$180 for an adult and $115 for a child for one day on the NZSki Superpass, which NZSki says can be used any day with no booking. The Afternoon Pass, 12:30pm to 4pm, is $135 for an adult. Spring Passes, usable from 1 September, are $525 for 5 days, $600 for 6 days and $675 unlimited for an adult. Children under 5 and seniors 75 and over ski free with a MyPass card. Read 18 September 2026.
Is a spring pass cheaper than buying day passes?
At NZSki from the fourth day against the 1 and 2-day Superpass prices we recorded, and at Cardrona and Treble Cone from the third, on our arithmetic from the published adult prices. Three NZSki days bought as a 2-day Superpass ($340) and a single day ($180) cost $520, $5 under the 5-day Spring Pass at $525; four days as two 2-day Superpasses cost $680. We did not record longer Superpass prices. At Cardrona and Treble Cone the 4-day spring pass ($480) costs less than three single days at the $184 shown for 26 September and 3 October ($552).
How do you get to the ski fields from Queenstown without a car?
NZSki's Ski Bus to Coronet Peak and The Remarkables is $36 return for anyone 6 and over, $15 for ages 3 to 5 and free under 2, from 9 Duke Street from 7:30am; bookings are essential. The Queenstown Ski Bus to Cardrona or Treble Cone is $20 return for an adult in spring, leaving Cameron Place at 7:30am for Cardrona (back at 4:15pm) and 7:00am for Treble Cone (back at 4:00pm).
Do children ski free in Queenstown?
At the NZSki fields, Coronet Peak and The Remarkables, children under 5 and seniors 75 and over ski free, though they still need a MyPass card. The NZSki child day price is $115, and the Superpass page does not say which ages it covers. At Cardrona and Treble Cone a child (6 to 17) day was $109 on the Saturdays we checked: 26 September and 3 October at Cardrona, 26 September at Treble Cone.
What is the free alternative to a ski day?
Queenstown Hill. DOC lists the Queenstown Hill Time Walk at 5.4 km return and 2 to 3 hours from Belfast Terrace, climbing about 500 m to a 907 m summit, and it costs nothing. DOC warns that the higher tracks can have snow and ice from autumn through winter and often into spring.
Get the Thursday email
One expensive Queenstown decision a week, settled with dated prices and the free alternative, plus three things the week favours. Free. It also carries the one launch email, so you are on the app waitlist too.
One email every Thursday at 6am: one Queenstown decision settled with numbers, and three things the week favours. Plus one email when the app launches. Unsubscribe any time. Privacy
Related guides
- Free things to do in Queenstown
Twelve free things, and the $2.50 bus that gets you to each one.
- Queenstown's four ski fields compared: dates, passes, buses
Season dates, day pass prices, ski bus fares and drive times for all four fields, side by side.
- Queenstown in September
Spring skiing at spring prices from the 1st, the night-ski finale, Treble Cone's last day and the clock change.
- Queenstown in October
The ski fields close through the month, the summits reopen, and the shoulder-season prices before summer.
Sources: Coronet Peak, mountain info (opens in a new tab), Coronet Peak, home page events (opens in a new tab), Coronet Peak, Superpass (opens in a new tab), Coronet Peak, lift passes (opens in a new tab), Coronet Peak, Afternoon Pass (opens in a new tab), Coronet Peak, Spring Passes (opens in a new tab), Coronet Peak, weather report (opens in a new tab), Coronet Peak, Ski Bus (opens in a new tab), The Remarkables, mountain info (opens in a new tab), The Remarkables, Superpass (opens in a new tab), The Remarkables, Afternoon Pass (opens in a new tab), The Remarkables, weather report (opens in a new tab), The Remarkables, Ski Bus (opens in a new tab), Cardrona and Treble Cone, hours of operation (opens in a new tab), Cardrona and Treble Cone, mountains (opens in a new tab), Cardrona and Treble Cone, lift pass booking engine (opens in a new tab), Cardrona and Treble Cone, lift passes (opens in a new tab), Cardrona and Treble Cone, passes (opens in a new tab), Cardrona and Treble Cone, spring deals (opens in a new tab), Cardrona and Treble Cone, snow report (opens in a new tab), Cardrona and Treble Cone, transport (opens in a new tab), DOC, Queenstown day walks and bike trails brochure (opens in a new tab) and ORC, Queenstown bus fares (opens in a new tab), retrieved 18 September 2026. Prices are quoted as each operator publishes them; Cardrona and Treble Cone single-day prices change by date, and the snow figures are the operators' own, unofficial, as they stood on 18 September 2026. Independent guide; we earn nothing on any booking on this page. This independent guide is published by Tally Sphere Limited, a New Zealand company. Spotted a change? Report a problem with this page and the page address comes with your email.